June 2, 2017 – June 4, 2017 all-day
5772 Kværndrup

Heartland Festival is a multi-genre, multi-art form festival on the island of Funen, in Denmark. Music is the main event, but Heartland also prides itself on presenting critically acclaimed artists, chefs, and speakers as well.

Last year, alongside music headliners The Flaming Lips and Mark Ronson, Brian Eno presented his art installation The Ship, and Maria Abramovic gave a talk.

This festival is located on the grounds of a preserved Renaissance water castle, and features lush parks and rolling hills. Stepping through the gate onto the festival site feels like entering another realm, where inquisitiveness and communal-mindedness reign supreme.

Attendance sits at approximately 6,000 people per day, and the music is divided between two stages, allowing the festival to maintain an air of intimacy. And it’s all-encompassing approach creates a distinct and refreshing atmosphere. If you’re looking for a festival that gives you room to enjoy great music, art, food, and discussion, this is the one for you.

Festival Programme

Music: Bryan Ferry, Cat Power, Flying Lotus, Miguel, Alex Vargas, Birdy, Bisse, Francis and the Lights, The Minds of 99, Gregory Porter, The Cinematic Orchestra, Diamanda Galás, Eddie Vedder, Oh Wonder, Simon Kvamm, Vellness Plates, The Royal Danish Ballet, London Grammar, Bomba Estèreo, Sort Sol, Veto, August Rosenbaum, Choir of Young Believers, På Danske Laeber, Soleima x Dark Matters, Ukendt Kunstner.

Talks: Michael Stipe & Douglas Coupland, Werner Herzog & Sofi Oksanen, Olafur Eliasson & Joshua Oppenheimer, Mark Simpson & Mads Nørgaard, Elisa Kragerup & Josefine Klougart, Loretta Napoleoni & Jill Byrnit, Coco O & Mia Lyhne, Lone Frank & Ole Fogh Kirkeby, Jimmy Maymann & Vincent Hendricks, Thomas Rode & Oluf Borbye Pedersen, Christiane Vejlø, Edmonia Baker & Jesper Knudsen, Klaus Æ. Mogensen & Nicklas Larsen, Michael Madsen & Anne Dencker Bædkel, Tim Hinman & Benjamin Walker, Lone Frank & Bogi Eliasen, Katrine K. Pedersen & Peter Kofod, Jeanette Varberg & Claus Kjeldsen, Mette Sillesen & Sadie Lune, Aubrey de Grey.

Art: Tony Oursler, Søren Behncke, Tina Maria Nielsen, Sophie Dupont, Magnus Pettersen, Lars Worm, Cecilie Waagner Falkenstroøm, Dagmar Radmacher.


Pin It on Pinterest